Amazing Stories

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

— John Newton

I had a conversation a few days ago with several church folks, and the topic turned to sharing our testimonies. One of the men told how he had been in conversation once with an elderly woman who said she didn’t know how to share her story. “I have a boring story,” she told him. When he asked her to tell him more, she told a fantastic, amazing story of the power of prayer and God’s faithfulness.

I have been in a position of believing my story “boring” and “dull” many times. Of course, in talking to those believers who have what we might consider “exciting” salvation stories, they always say they would have preferred my background–brought up in church, saved at an early age, no significant consequences from the bad choices I did make, no arrest record, etc.

It’s easy to think my salvation story is dull. But the truth is that none of us have boring stories.

I have considered many times that we don’t fully understand God’s grace. When John Newton wrote “Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me,” we think he was only talking about himself.

He was talking about all of us.

If we fully understood God’s grace and mercy, I think none of us would ever again apologize for having a “boring story.”

Rather, we would understand that we all have amazing stories.

Till next we meet . . .

J M

