Processing . . .

I know I’ve been quiet lately–not just this past week, but for several weeks. Part of it is schedule, but a lot of it, as I mentioned, is a “drawing in” phase. The problem with the “drawing in” phase is that eventually, my thoughts stack up in a big, jumbled mess. I’m working on sorting those thoughts out, untangling them, making sense of them, but the process is taking a while. When I’m done, I’ll likely have at least a few days’ worth of posts to share. These posts will likely be almost entirely concerning my writing. I apologize in advance.

In the meantime, I wanted to share this video. I’ve watched it several times over the last few years. I love the clarity that Mr. Kunkle brings to the whole question of what’s okay for Christians to consume when it comes to art. I do allow myself a fairly wide latitude on art–what I view, read, listen to, experience–but since I’ve watched this video, I’ve evaluated the art I experience in completely different ways. I find myself much more aware of the messages that movies and books are communicating.

I’ll be back next week with ruminations on how to engage in my art with the goals of communicating truth and extolling goodness in a (hopefully) well-done, beautiful manner.

Till next we meet . . .

J M

3 thoughts on “Processing . . .

  1. davezart

    In my opinion, Harry Potter is OK for kids who can recognize that it is pure fantasy, and not reality. I have a different opinion of movies like twliight, where these vampire things can be sitting right next to you. They promote unreal fear in kids.

    1. jmpadoc Post author

      I think these guidelines are good for evaluating movies overall, but obviously, specific movies need to be evaluated in the context of specific kids and their ages and levels of development. Even a movie like The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe can be terrifying to a child who isn’t mature enough to handle it. But I think the fear issue (or even any content a child isn’t ready for) is a separate thing from evaluating whether a movie meets the truth, goodness, beauty standard. For instance, The Passion of the Christ certainly meets the standard, but my 8yo hasn’t watched it yet. She has an extremely soft heart, and she’s not ready to experience that level of violence. My 10yo, though, had no issues with that movie at the same age. In fact, seeing the movie deepened his faith.

      Thank you for the comment!

  2. Pingback: On Writing, Art, and Salvation (part 1) | Notes from the Threshing Floor

Comments are closed.