Home

“There is no place like home.”
― L. Frank Baum, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

I’m home. At last.

I spent the first week of August at camp with Hermione–seven days and six nights! Then I was blessed with a mere 14-hour pit stop at home, where Mr. P. had lovingly planned a steak dinner in my honor. I headed out the following morning with Lucy to another camp–three days and two nights–and finally arrived home for good late on Tuesday night. I confess that most of Wednesday is a blur. Boy Patriot saw that I wasn’t moving much, so he took care of making dinner for himself and the other three ducklings. He’s becoming quite a solicitous, responsible young man.

Despite the exhaustion, I will confess to having an absolutely wonderful time with my daughters, the other American Heritage Girls in attendance at both camps, and my AHG co-leaders, both in the troop and out of it. The first camp was especially beneficial to me as an incoming Troop Coordinator. I had the chance to meet coordinators from six other troops, as well as a host of unit leaders and parents who are active in AHG. It was so valuable to share frustrations, ideas, considerations, philosophies, and visions with these other men and women.

I was also blessed with an opportunity to put a bit of a stone in someone’s shoe. One of the camp staffers opened a conversation–perhaps by accident, I admit–about matters in the realm of faith, social issues, and politics. I jumped into the gap provided and started asking questions. The staffer was gracious enough to allow the conversation. It was honestly one of the best conversations I’ve had in months–perhaps even years. I did not succeed in converting this staffer to my way of thinking, but it’s my fervent hope that I at least provided some thought-provoking insights for later rumination on the staff member’s part. If nothing else, I hope that I was at least an example of a winsome ambassador to the two AHG girls who were with me at the time.

What’s next? More prep for our upcoming AHG activity year, mostly. I don’t know how much I will be online for the next month or so. I will attempt to blog once or twice a week, but I’m not sure how coherent or useful my current insights will be. I’m mostly in admin mode, which tends to be rather dull (albeit necessary).

In the meantime, I am reminded of how very blessed I am here in my little cocoon. It’s messy, cluttered, loud, and frequently lacking in foodstuffs (I need to get to the grocery store more often), but it’s home.

Till next we meet . . .

J M

2 thoughts on “Home

Comments are closed.