Soli Deo gloria

“Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice;
“Let the sea roar, and all it contains;
Let the field exult, and all that is in it.
“Then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy
Before the Lord, for He is coming,
“For He is coming to judge the earth.
“He will judge the world in righteousness
“And the peoples in His faithfulness.

— Psalm 96:11-13, NASB

I hiked again yesterday. This time, it was just me, Hermione, and The Child Formerly Known as Boy Scout. (Still working on a new nickname for him . . .)  Hermione was hiking into where her American Heritage Girls troop would be camping for the weekend. The Child Formerly Known as Boy Scout was accompanying us since he had hiked the trail before. I was there to mediate arguments and apply bandages, if necessary.

While Hermione struggled some on the 750′ initial climb, she nevertheless accomplished the hike with great aplomb and was very pleased with herself. This incredibly strong 12-year-old girl carried nearly 30 pounds on her back for over five miles. It was the first time she’d ever done it. She’s completely entitled to be proud of herself. (And yes, Mama Duckling may be a smidge proud, too.)

The Child Formerly Known as Boy Scout (TCFKABS) and I waited until the rest of the troop arrived, and then another leader graciously drove us back to my car. TCFKABS and I stopped for dinner on the way home. This budding young man (who will be 14 next month) chatted with me like he never does when his siblings are around. I don’t get nearly enough one-on-one time with these ducklings. I am always reminded of how amazing they are when I do get a rare hour or two with one of them.

Of course, after we got back on the road, he played games on my phone for the 2-hour drive home . . . Ah, teenagers.

Some of the sights we enjoyed:

0613131217

0613131238b

0613131400a

This little guy stood very still while we took several pictures. He seemed as curious about us as we were about him!

0613131431a

This picture does not do the view justice.

0613131453

0613131446

I almost expected Merry and Pippin to drop down from above when I saw these very Entish legs!

My word, but we certainly live in a glorious world, do we not? How can we keep from singing His praise?

Till next we meet . . .

J M

2 thoughts on “Soli Deo gloria

Comments are closed.